top of page

What Type Of Trainee Are You?

“What type of trainee are you?” This was a question asked as a homework assignment in an on-line circus essentials training that I am doing. Easy answer: “A serious amateur.” Real answer: “Who the fuck are you to ask me such a question when we have only just met?” Seriously, do you really intend to bore down into the very core of my being? There ain’t no one answer to that question. Most days, training gets me out of bed and lulls me to sleep at night. Sometimes training makes me feel great, and many other times wholly inadequate. I try to tell myself to focus on the process and not the result, but I only partially succeed. I know that I can train my guts out and never be as good as I would like to be. The real work is trying to live with that – and still train. Because, if I did not train, I would have no life worth living.

So, what type of trainee are you? If I had to boil it down to one word – “desperate.”

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page