top of page

Go Get Good

This is a new personal mantra, especially for my aerial work, but it also applies to kung fu. I used to think to myself that I could possibly get good if I were able to practice aerial on a consistent basis. Well, now I have a place to practice aerial in my very own home, actually it is quite a deluxe space in terms of aerial requirements. Currently, there are some issues with sawdust and insulation fibers, but these details will smooth themselves out in time. What is really key is a 17-foot ceiling and 45x20 feet of floor space. Basically, one could not ask for more in terms of aerial practice, and kung fu as well.

Of course, none of this came cheap. You think of the person who feels like a dumb-ass for sinking a couple of thousand dollars into a piece of exercise equipment that sits unused. Now, think of a person who spends hundreds of times that amount on an exercise space that is not used. A nasty thought.

I will not be that person. So, when I need a little motivation to climb scaffolding to set up my aerial equipment and then put in an hour or so of demanding work, usually in the early evening (when I might otherwise just enjoy a glass of wine) – that is when I pull out my mantra. Go get good. It ignites that spark of curiosity to find out what am capable of. And fortunately, energy seems to come from the doing of it on most days.

The mantra works in the mornings as well when I need to get my sluggish ass out into that practice room to do kung fu. Go get good. See what you can do. Find out what you can accomplish.

In short, now that I have everything in terms of a space in which to practice, most excuses are gone. Now, it is a matter of justifying the time and effort (mostly my husband’s) and the money spent to acquire such a glorious space. Really, the only failure is not getting out there. Go get good.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page